top of page
  • Cathlyn Truong

Flower Of My Mind

I wait for my eyes to bloom

So I could see the noon in a different hue

Despite this, I felt incoming doom


The world is painted in the same shades

From day-to-day, it was the only thing that remains

Nothing occurred to make it change


But what good was there

When I was scared

I only saw the blossoming that was ensuing everywhere


Soft sprouting petals take upon these shapes

As if it was trying to escape

The purpose behind breaking out appears opaque


Struggling to penetrate through the ground, it flourishes

Pointed thorns that pierced the past, so it perishes

Wanting to bloom in different ways like us


Slowly I feel my throat get wrapped around

Constraining all sound

Nothing was allowed


Flowers that strive for perfection

Will wilt in dissatisfaction

Remembering life as a contradiction


So why do we try to pick out the weeds?

Why do we make ourselves bleed?

Is it worth it for perfection that only we believe?


Why is it so difficult to accept such shifts?

Change isn't something that is easily dismissed

Yet something so impactful is hard to accept as a gift


Should I accept it

Or try to resist

Leaves can only fall in my head till I pick


One day I can confine

That I will have roots of my own at some point in time

A flower of my mind


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page