top of page
  • Madison Reavis

Athlete Spotlight: Alfred Morris

Updated: Jan 13, 2022

West Carteret has many amazing and committed athletes. In this column, I hope to highlight a current West Carteret senior athlete to inspire others to get involved within the school. This edition’s spotlight is focused on star football player #60, Alfred Morris.


1. How have sports changed you as a person?

Sports have made me into a stronger person by pushing me to overcome challenges and through teaching me to deal with adversity. Whether it is dealing with a loss after a hard game or dealing with a particularly rough workout, being an athlete has allowed for me to have insurmountable personal growth. I can truly say that playing sports have changed my life and that I can credit a lot of my personal growth to them.


2. Why do you like being a part of a team sport?

I like being on sports teams because nothing can take away the brotherhood you build with your teammates on the field. I know that these relationships that I have formed will last a lifetime, and for that I will be forever grateful.


3. What is your favorite part about competing?

My favorite part about competing in a sport is the thrill of winning after you know how much work you and your team have put in during the season. There is nothing better than seeing the scoreboard and knowing in your heart that you deserve the win ahead of you. This was especially true during our first playoff game. We worked so hard to achieve the winning outcome, so it was a truly rewarding experience to fight for something and for it to pay off in the end.


4. What is your favorite sports memory?

Pre-game dinners. The food is always really good and it is nice to be able to sit and have a good time with my teammates before the game. These dinners put you in an enthusiastic and hyped up mood for the game that laid before us.


5. What is one piece of advice you would give to an underclassmen?

Don’t spend your time worrying about the next game or the next play. Make sure to live in the moment. You don’t want to miss out on fun memories because of stressing about what is next. Remember to do your best and treasure the reason you joined the sport in the first place: to have fun.


6. What do you plan to do in the future?

I plan on attending a 4 year university and start a career in the boating industry. I have spent a majority of my life on the water. I can see myself living a happy and fulfilling life in this career choice.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page